All the Things!

23 May

Hi.

5 months ago, I was at a loss as to where our lives were heading.  We had moved into another rental and our infertility was still unresolved.  I didn’t know what I wanted or what to do.  Time was just moving forward.

Since then?

We bought a house!
10931726_769633127424_7628343442182734811_n

 

It’s a sweet little 2 bedroom house with a loft and an excellent shed in the back.  I’m painting and tearing things apart faster than Jeremy is comfortable with.  It’s been cathartic.

I got promoted to supervisor at work and I still LOVE my job!  So much fabric and so many wonderful people. 🙂

We’ve decided to seriously explore foster care.

I’m not saying that we’re definitely going to become foster parents, but we’re moving in that direction.  We’re going to take the 10 week course offered by our county.  We’re going to talk to other people who have fostered and/or adopted through our county about the nitty gritty, the bad, and the good.  We’re going to read read read.  And hopefully, by the fall, we’ll be able to make a decision that we feel good about.  I think we’re slowly but surely leaning towards doing it.  The more I think about it, the more I want it.

I really want a baby.  Really.  But I’m not ready to use our last 2 embryos yet.  I’m not ready to go back to that.
Maybe, just maybe, fostering to adopt is the way our family was meant to come together.  Maybe we came to North Carolina not because we could finally afford IVF, but because there’s a child here already who is supposed to be ours.

We’ve spent the 8 months since our last IVF cycle failed being happy with our life.  We’ve gotten settled and secure.  We’re not going anywhere.  It’s time to start exploring our options again.  And I’m so excited to see what this year could bring. 🙂

More soon as we start to traverse life more seriously.

4 Responses to “All the Things!”

  1. Marianne May 24, 2015 at 6:56 am #

    Love your house!

  2. Bruised.Banana May 26, 2015 at 2:22 pm #

    First – your house is adorable! We just bought our first house and moved in this weekend. It’s such an amazing feeling. Second – If you want to talk foster care let me know! I also have unexplained infertility and we became licensed foster parents in December. We currently are fostering a 4 year old girl and her 3 year old brother. We would like to eventually adopt, but are open to just fostering in the meantime.

    • Jessica May 29, 2015 at 3:44 pm #

      Thank you! And congratulations on your house!
      I’m sure I will take you up on that and will be asking you lots of questions in the near future! 🙂 We put our first application in a couple days ago and are waiting to hear if we’ve been approved for the class. So much waiting again! 🙂

      • Bruised.Banana May 29, 2015 at 4:07 pm #

        So much waiting and SO MUCH paperwork! Good luck! I actually enjoyed the class we took and thought some of it was super helpful to any parent.

Leave a comment